Life with Ethel

I first met Ethel in the bird store that I frequent.  She was on a perch..bobbing, flapping and making baby noises.  When I asked about her, I found out that she was 1.5 years old and still being hand fed!  No one was sure what was going on with her.  Blood work and tests had been done..and they all came back negative.  The consensus was that she had had a baby stroke. From first glance to this day, I do not disagree.  Some of her symptoms were much like those of a human who had suffered a stroke.  She favored one side, had no strength and no balance.  Needless to say, after some sole searching, I went back and asked them to allow me to take her home and work with her…and they did..and Ethel has been with me ever since.  This blog is about my life with Ethel as well as my other special needs birds.  I will talk about what helped them and/or what didn’t.  It has been a learning experience and I hope that the knowledge I have gained will help others in similar circumstances.

I have a sister website as well as a sister facebook and twitter page to this blog.

Website:  http://specialneedsparrots.com
Facebook page:  https://www.facebook.com/specialneedsparrots
Twitter page:  https://twitter.com/SpecialFids

I would love to hear from others who have special needs birds and who have found solutions that others may not have discovered yet.  I do have a page on the above website for “Special Stories,”  if you would like to share, I would love to add your bird and your experiences.  Please let me know.

More importantly, if you are someone whose bird has suddenly had to face a disability or a change, please know it is not the end..these babies overcome…they learn and they have a strong will to survive.  The way they do things may change, BUT they do figure out a way to live with their disability and they live long, healthy lives.  Where there’s hope..there’s a way.

Leave a Reply

